Do you know what ICT means?

8 06 2007

ICT means “Information and Communication Technology”, often referred to as “Educational Technology”

 

 

The Information and Communication Technology (ICT) provides students of English as a second language with a broad perspective on the nature of technology and how to use and apply a variety of technologies in English language learning.

The aim of ICT is to offer new learning opportunities in which students of EFL have the chance to be in contact with the target language in real context.  For example, they can:

  • To read web sites in English.

  • to chat with natives or others students of EFL.

  • To design a blog with the purpose of interacting in English

 

Besides, ICT is also an excellent tool to be used for English language teaching.  It’s highly recommended to include technology in the process of English teaching because for students technology can:

  • be very motivational. 

  • be the source of a significant amount of English material.

  • be fun – and when it’s fun students learn.

  • help them to practice the target language, especially by using the internet.

 

 

 Regarding ELT Methodology and ICT, there are many interesting web sites about these topics.  Here are some links…

  • http://www.englishraven.com/methodology.html  This web page has a lot of information related with our ELT Methodology program. Here you will find information about the oral presentation topics as well.

  • http://exchanges.state.gov/forum/vols/vol40/no4/p2.pdf  This is an excellent article written by Mark Warschauer, Vice Chair of the Department of Education at the Education at the University of California.  Dr Warschauer’s research focuses on the role of information and communication technologies in second language learning and teaching.

 

Well…. I hope you have enjoyed, please send me your comments!

 


Actions

Information

8 responses

11 06 2007
Nahir

Congrats Mireya,

I can see you’ve managed to post so many interesting issues in your first post. It’s so colorful and organized.

I’ve got a question, what’s your view of ELT?

Looking forward to reading you,

Nahir

20 06 2007
Nahir

Hi Mireya,

I don’t know if you are a newbie about ICT or internet, but you’ve explored it, taken advantage, and gained a different perspective. Being curious is a good characteristic for a teacher, it shows your willingness to keep learning, something that you can transmit your students. Nice blog.

I thought I had left a comment here……. I’m getting forgetful…! )-:¿

Cheers,

Nahir

__________

20 06 2007
tiro

hi dear,
Thats a fantastic way to explain ICT. I enjoyed reading it.
Hope to read more info.

22 06 2007
Yeimic Bastidas

Hi Mire. Congrats for your practical and efficient blog. Let me tell you that most of us still dont know how to place extra information on ours.
So, I would apreaciate if you could show me how you managed to do that , beacuse I found to many links in which I spend too much time and dont help me efficiently.
On the other hand, I know you are very good at chatting and interacting through WEB so, I am sure you wont have any problem to teach your students how to deal with technology and to put in practice all the tips ICT can offer you to improve your classes. Congrats one more time. and please HELP ME !!!. Kisses.

25 06 2007
Analida

Hi Mireyita,
Congratulations. I could see that your topic was really interesting and you knew also how to aboard it in an different way. I feel that your information is very useful for us in order to be used during the process of the teaching programme. I can also see that there are new techniques that are very close to us but most don´t know about them. Thanks again for showing us.

27 06 2007
zulbely

Excellent way to show the information. I really enjoyed reading your blog and I hope to find soon new information about methodology and the use of ICT. I really expect that soon our students could enjoy everything that new technologies have to offer. Take care.

8 07 2007
karinaclemente

Hello Mireyita!!!!
I didn’t have the opportunity to check your blog before. Now I did, I really like the way you show the informationa and the photos that you included. I agree with you in the fact that working with new technologies help students to feel motivated and at the same time they can learn so many things in a different way.
Congratulations!!!!

8 07 2007
mary ann

Hi mireya,
That was a fantastic way to rspond to this topic, and very enjoyable to read to. Hope some of us take it as an example. Keep posting more info.

Leave a comment